The Big Decision

“You’re really gonna do it, huh? Reaaallly?”

“I’m so jealous! I wish I could travel.”

“Wow, that takes balls.”

“So it’s like a vacation…?”

“Why???”

The reactions I get from people when they find out I’m leaving to travel the world are varied, but they all kind of have an underlying element of awe and, well, an air of disbelief. My responses are usually along these lines:

“Yup, my mind is made up, I’m really doing it.”

“Anyone can travel if they have the drive to make it happen.”

“Sold all my stuff, no turning back now.”

“It’s not a vacation, I’m living abroad.”

“Because I want to. Because the whisper has turned into a scream. Because it doesn’t make any sense not to go.”

And there’s one common theme to my responses: resolve. I guess “balls” would be somewhat accurate. But that’s not to say fear isn’t a factor. Quite frankly, I’m terrified. But I’m proceeding with conviction, determined to explore the brilliantly colored fabric of life in spite of that nagging thing called fear.

I’ve always had a curious infatuation with other cultures. Ever since moving to Hawaii in ’02, and then moving back to the heart of the U.S., I’ve longed for diversity and felt rather disconnected spending so much time in a very homogeneous area. Combine my love of natural beauty and ocean life with my eagerness to experience societies beyond the ethnocentric, consumer-driven American culture and you’ve got a world traveler in a Coloradoan’s clothing.

So here I am. Ready with a one-way ticket to Rarotonga and a whole lot of room for possibility… and a smile ten miles wide plastered across my face. To steal one of the most overused cliches in the book, the world truly is my oyster. Stay tuned.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joanie Kush ( Aunt)
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:43:57

    Jealous- a little
    Excited-yes
    Nervous- a lot
    Suprised-not at all

    Reply

Leave a Reply

